Albion Collective: Recommends November

Continuing on from our first Recommends feature last month and albeit slightly late, we have here our selections for the best in bass music releases in November.

With so much great music coming out from all angles of the underground electronic spectrum, the Albion crew have handpicked those that have really stood out to them personally.

If you like what you find here, please share the post. A big thanks to all of the record labels and artists featured, for bringing us the fire, each and every time!

Drew’s Theory – Ghost In The Stereo – [VRSD001] Versed Records

Drew’s Theory has had an incredible year, with music released on a myriad of labels like Cue Line, MindStep, Foundation Channel and the revived Redshift-One. Versed Records offer up their debut release in style with the American producer’s dubbed out jazzed take on 140, collaborating nicely with Arta and El Jeffe in the process.

Jaydrop – True Sound / Insight / Shortwave / The Constant / Underlay – [31RS015] ThirtyOne Recordings

Bristolian Jaydrop has similarly had an enourmous year so far, topping it off with a mighty industrial half-time drum & bass release on Doc Scott‘s 31 Recordings. On one hand Jaydrop warmed up for Andy C‘s 6 hour set at Motion, and on the other he’s been seeing great support from Youngsta who invited Jaydrop to play for Contact at the same venue as well as onto his renowned Rinse FM show. It’s hard to believe that Jaydrop’s first release was only a year ago.
J:Kenzo‘s 3-track Rum Punch EP was also released shortly afterwards on 31 Recs in November, which is another commendable release from him too.

KOAN Sound, Culprate, Asa & Opiuo – If You Hadn’t – [Bandcamp exclusive] Inspected Records

Another fantastic track for an equally fantastic cause. Asa, Culprate and KOAN Sound have once again stepped up to produce their fourth one-off masterpiece for men’s health charity Movember, this time teaming up with Opiuo after previous years have seen collaborations with Sorrow, Reso and Gemini. Impeccable production and sound design as always expected, they’ve pushed the envelope once more to deliver a real gem.

Ash Walker – Augmented 7th – [ASHDHCD001] Deep Heads

Somewhat an unknown producer in the bass music realm until a few free downloads began to appear on Deep Heads‘ SoundCloud, Ash Walker‘s rise has been quite remarkable. Dipping into a collusion of reggae, trip-hop and jazz influences, the London producer’s debut LP features singles Bamboo Circus & Six Eight and an incredible array of dusky yet captivating pieces throughout. Don’t forget to also check the remix package featuring Synkro, Gerwin and Alphabets Heaven!

Tsvi – Set You Free EP – [NH002] Nervous Horizon

Nervous Horizon see out their second artist release with co-owner Tsvi, after the success of Wallwork & RZR‘s EP and the label’s debut compilation volume. Affiliations with Bad Taste and B.YRSLF Division have cemented Tsvi as one of the most forward-thinking producers to emerge from London’s music scene, and this EP is confirmation. Featuring some merciless remixes from Luru and Lokane to round it up, this release has to be heard to be believed.

Fallen 45 – To Fall Or Fly EP – [DP112] Dub Police Records

After making elusive appearances on various Biome tunes over the years (DMT, Searching, Lost, Under The Dome), Fallen 45 emerged with his first ever release on Caspa‘s infamous Dub Police Records. Going solo Fallen 45 displays what he can conjur up, from the nasty mid-range synths to texture-laden pad work. A packed solid debut is the end result.

Isolate – FKOFd024 – [FKOFd024] FatKidOnFire

To celebrate two years as a record label, FatKidOnFire turn to another new outfit in the form of Isolate for their next release. Having already released with Hatcha‘s label a couple of years back, the Bristol duo have clearly been working hard on their sound. Ranging from vigourously militant to mesmerisingly funky, Isolate demonstrate their dubstep palette on one of the scene’s fastest rising imprints of the last few years.

Lyeform – Unbroken – [WRK002] GRNDWRK

Hailing from Leeds, Corporal F‘s GRNDWRK began life as Tessellate Records before a name change upon Nuvaman‘s Eastside release. Regardless of name the label have been knocking out quality music for almost two years now with the likes of Klient, Prizma and Nativ, and have turned to London-based producer Lyeform for the next in the series. Lyeform’s been supported heavily on Dusk & Blackdown‘s Keysound show all year round, on top of impressing DJs such as Mumdance and Mella Dee, this EP is only a small but teasing taste of what the producer has up his sleeve for 2016.

DieMantle – Way I Feel / Damagement – [GF014] Gutterfunk Records

DJ Die‘s Gutterfunk label continue to push the goods, following on from a slew of releases over the summer from Jus Now and Degrees of Freedom. Die himself teamed up with Digital Soundboy stalwart Dismantle in 2014, making Over The Edge their first single as DieMantle. This single is their first since then however it has been definitely worth the wait. Way I Feel is a breakbeat-driven bass anthem, backed up by the swaggering Damagement taking influence from juke and footwork with a sprinkle of 90s rave thrown in.
If you’re a fan of this sound, jump to DJ Die’s SoundCloud to hear DieMantle’s next single ‘My Thing’.

Moonstones – Mutations EP – [GB003] Gourmet Beats

‘America’s dubstep ambassador’ Joe Nice has finally formed a platform for which to sign his favourite dubstep music to, so far turning to DJG (who makes a return to that particular alias) and Bristol-based Sepia. In doing so, with every release on the label the artist is able to choose a charity for which a portion of the proceeds will go towards, in this case it being Children’s Diabetes Foundation. Dutch producer Moonstones, fresh off of the back of his debut output on FatKidOnFire’s label, doubles up alongside US beatmaker Malleus and in doing so provide one of the heaviest EPs of the year so far. Sharp and staggered percussion, tripped out bass charges and intricate sound effects are the theme for this one, marking another weighty release for Joe Nice’s Gourmet. Bon appetite.

Neuropol – Innermost EP – [CBD001] Cosmic Bridge

Om Unit‘s Cosmic Bridge kick off their digital-only series with Bristolian Neuropol, who originally kicked up a fuss on the scene with his first ever EP on Shogun Audio‘s SGN:Ltd. Another top-notch four-track EP for Coleco‘s Inflect Audio came out later that year, however since then Neuropol has been holding back for the right time. Including a feature from Om Unit himself, the Innermost EP examples the aesthetic of the label itself whilst carving out a variation of differing flips on the ‘160’ sound.
You can find the free bonus track ‘Overtron’ from this EP by Neuropol on XLR8R’s SoundCloud page.

Keep up to date with our releases, mixtapes and blog posts like this, by subsribing to our newsletter below. No spam, just good news.

Originally written for Albion Collective.

AC Banner


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s